General Knowledge Questions On Union Council Of Minister

Narendra Damodardas Modi took oath as 15th Prime Minister Of India alongwith 45 members of his Council of Ministers, On May 26, 2014
in a culmination of a Lok Sabha Election Compaign that he led for the Bharatiya Janata Party Led National Democratic President of india Mr. Pranab Mukherjee administered the oath of office and secreecy to Mr. Modi and his Council of Ministers.

Apart from PM Modi, the Council of Ministers has 23 cabinet ministers, 10 ministers of state with independent charge and 12 ministers of state.
The oath taking ceremony was Attended by over 5,000 Guests and dignitaries from eight SAARC nations.

Minutes after Mr Modi was sworn in a little past 6 p.m. he tweeted “A big thank you to all friends who will be viewing the ceremony on TV and through Social Media your constant support and blessings mean a lot”.

The Cabinet of India, otherwise called the Union Cabinet of India, is the aggregate decision making assortment of the Government of India, comprises of the Prime Minister and the cabinet ministers. The Cabinet is a definitive choice making collection of the official inside the Westminster arrangement of government in conventional protected hypothesis. The Cabinet Secretary give support to the gathering of pastors and goes about as a consultant. Clergymen of State aid the Cabinet serves in their work.

Union Council Of Ministers-

There are three categories of ministers :

1.Union Cabinet Minister : senior minister in-charge of a ministry.

2.Minister of State (Independent Charges) : with no overseeing union cabinet minister for that portfolio

3.Minister of State : junior minister reporting to a cabinet minister, usually tasked with a specific responsibility in that ministry.

Cabinet Ministers –

1.Shri Narendra Modi –

Prime Minister of India.
Minister for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions.
Minister of Atomic Energy.
Minister of Space.

2 Shri Rajnath Singh –

Minister of Home Affairs

3.Smt. Sushma Swaraj-

Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs

4. Shri Arun Jaitley-

Minister of Finance.
Minister of Corporate Affairs.
Minister of Defence.

5. Shri Venkaiah Naidu-

Minister of Urban Development.
Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation.
Minister of Parliamentary Affairs.

6. Shri Nitin Gadkari-

Minister of Road Transport and Highways.
Minister of Shipping.
Minister of Rural Development.

7. Shri D. V. Sadananda Gowda-

Minister of Railways.

8. Sushri Uma Bharti-

Minister of Water Resources.
River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation.

9. Shri Najma Heptullah-

Minister of Minority Affairs.

10. Shri Ram Vilas Paswan-

Minister of Consumer Affairs.
Food and Public Distribution.

11. Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi-

Minister of Women and Child Development.

12. Shri Ananth Kumar-

Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers.

13. Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad-

Minister of Law and Justice.
Minister of Communications and Information Technology.

14. Shri Ashok Gajapati Raju-

Minister of Civil Aviation.

15. Shri Anant Geete-

Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

16. Smt. Harsimrat Kaur-

Minister of Food Processing Industries.

17. Shri Narendra Singh Tomar-

Minister of Mines.
Minister of Steel.
Minister of Labour and Employment.

18. Shri Jual Oram-

Minister of Tribal Affairs.

19. Shri Thawar Chand Gehlot-

Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment.

20. Shri Kalraj Mishra-

Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

21. Shri Radha Mohan Singh-

Minister of Agriculture.

22. Shri Harsh Vardhan-

Minister of Health and Family Welfare

23. Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani-

Minister of Human Resource Development

Ministers of State (Independent Charges)-

1. Shri Vijay Kumar Singh-

Development of North Eastern Region (Independent Charges)
External Affairs.
Overseas Indian Affairs.

2. Shri Inderjit Singh Rao-

Planning (Independent Charges).
Statistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charges).

3. Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar-

Textiles, Parliamentary Affairs, Water Resources.
River Development, Ganga Rejuvenation.

4. Shri Shripad Yesso Naik-

Culture, Tourism.

5. Shri Dharmendra Pradhan-

Petroleum and Natural Gas.

6. Shri Sarbananda Sonowal-

Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports

7. Shri Prakash Javadekar-

Information and Broadcasting, Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Parliamentary Affairs

8. Shri Piyush Goyal-

Power, Coal, New and Renewable Energy

9. Dr. Jitendra Singh

Science and Technology.
Earth Sciences.
Prime Minister Office, Personnel.
Public Grievances & Pensions.
Department of Atomic Energy.
Department of Space.

10. Smt.Nirmala Sitharaman-

Commerce and Industry, Finance, Corporate Affairs

Ministers of State-

1.Shri G.M. Siddeshwara-

Civil Aviation

2. Shri Manoj Sinha-


3. Shri Nihalchand-

Chemicals and Fertilizers

4. Shri Upendra Kushwaha-

Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Drinking Water and Sanitation

5. Shri Pon Radhakrishnan-

Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

6. Shri Kiren Rijiju-

Home Affairs

7. Shri Krishan Pal-

Road Transport and Highways,Shipping

8. Shri Sanjeev Kumar Balyan-

Agriculture, Food Processing Industries

9. Shri Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava-

Tribal Affairs

10. Shri Raosaheb Dadarao Danve –

Consumer Affairs,Food and Public Distribution

11. Shri Vishnu Deo Sai-

Mines, Steel, Labour and Employment

12. Shri Sudarshan bhagat-

Social Justice and Empowerment.


[button-red url=”” target=”_blank” position=”center”]Basic General Knowledge [/button-red]