Asian Games Facts And Highlights: 17th Asian Games Incheon, South korea 2014

The Asian Games, otherwise called Asiad, is a Pancontinental multi-sport occasion held at regular intervals among competitors from all over Asia. The Games were controlled by the Asian Games Federation (AGF) from the first Games in New Delhi, India, until the 1978 Games. Since the 1982 Games they have been sorted out by the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), after the separation of the Asian Games Federation. The Games are perceived by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and are depicted as the second biggest multi-sport occasion after the Olympic Games.

Fact And Highlights On Asian Games-

* The First Asian Games begain on march 4, 1951 in New Delhi.
* The Asian Games Associaition has choosen Shining Sun as its symbol.
* The AGF (Asian Games Federation) adopted ‘Ever Onward’, given by pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, as the motto of the Asian Games.
* The Emblem of Asian Games is a ‘Bright Full Rising Sun’ with interlocking rings.
* The Maharaja of Patiala presented the torch and the flag for the first asian games and since then they have been carried from country to   country.
* 16th Asian Games were held in Guangzhou, China in 2010.
* Dance Sport, Dragon Boat, Rolar Sport and Weiqui (a form of chess), were other new entrants into the 16th Asian Games.
* 17th Asian Games are Currently Going in Incheon, South korea in 2014.

16th Asian Games-XVI Asiad Highlights (12 to 27 Nov. 2010)-

* 16th Asian Games (2010) get off with a Grand Begining at Haixinsha Island, Guangzhou on 12th November 2010.

* India bagged the first gold medal at Guangzhou, when Pankaj Advani won gold in the men’s english Billiards.

* China, South Korea and Japan came first, second and third respectively in the 16th Asian Games.

* 16th Asiad came to a close on nov. 27 2010 with China (199 Gold 199 Silver and 98 Bronze) topping the overall Medals Tally.

* India won 14 Gold 17 Silver and 33 Bronze Medals and managed to occupy the 6th position.

* Gagan Narang world record holder in Shooting, carried out the flag for india in the Opening Ceremoney at Guangzhou.

* Pankaj Advani was one of the rare players to defend his Gold Medal won in billiards in the Doha Asiad 2006. he was also the one who opened the Gold count for India.

* Vijender Singh (boxing), the world and Olympic medalist, helped India finish on high by beating the two time world champion Abbos Atoev of Uzbekistan.

* in kabaddi, India won both the Golds for men’s and women’s events.

* Indian Hockey Team won just the Bronze medal.

* Squash was as good as Wrestling with three Bronzee Medals.

The Events where India won Gold Medals are:

Men’s tennis Singles (Somdev Devvarman)

Men’s tennis Doubles (Somdev Verman and Sanam kr. Singh)

Billiards (Pankaj Aadvani)

Women’s 400 m Hurdles (Ahwini C. Akkunji, Mandeep Kaur, Manjeet Kaur and Sini Jose)

Men’s 400 m Hurdles (Joseph abraham)

Men’s 75 kg Rowing (Viender Singh)

Men’s 60 kg Boxing (Vikash Krishnan)

Men’s Rowing (Bajrang Lal Thakur)

Women’s 3000 m Steeplechase (Sudha Singh)

Men’s Double Trap Shooting (Ranjan Sodhi)

Women’s 10000 m (Preeja Sridharan)

Men’s Kabaddi and Women’s Kabaddi

17th asian games-XVII Asiad highlight (Incheon, South korea 2014)-

* Sardar Singh, The Flag bearer at 17th Asian Games from Indian Side.

* The 31 year old Yogeshwar Dutt came first place to win the Gold Medal in Wrestling.

Asian Games 2014 Indian Winners-

Gold Medal:

Jittu Raj (Shooting)– Men’s 50m Pistol

Rajat Chauhan, Sahdeep Kumar, Abhishek Verma (Archery)- Men’s compound team

Saurav Ghosal, Mahesh Mangainkar, Harinder Pal Sandhu (Aquash)- Men’s team

Yogeshwar Datt (Wrestling)- Men’s freestlye 65km

Seema Punia (Athletics)- Women’s discus throw

Sania Mirza, Saketh Myneni (Tennis)- Mixed doubles

Silver Medal:

Saurav Ghoshal (Squash)– Men’s Single

Pemba Tamang, Vijay Kumar, Gurpreet Singh (Shooting)– Men’s 25m center fire pistol team.

Dipika Pillikal, Joshna Chinappa, Anaka Alankamony (sqush)– Women’s team

Abhishek Verma (Archery)– Men’s individual compound

Khushbir Kaur (Athletics)– Women’s 20 kg walk

Sanam Singh,Saketh Myneni (Tennis)– Men’s Double

Bronze Medal:

Sweta Chaudhary (Shooting)– Women’s 10m air pistol

Jitu Raj, Samaresh Jung, Prakesh Nanjappa (Shooting)– Men’s 10m pistol team

Sania Nehwal, P.V Sindhu, P.C. Thulasi, Pradnya Gadre, N. Siki Reddy Ashwini Ponnappa (Badminton)– Women’s team

Rahi Sarnobat, Anisa Sayyed, Heena Sindhu (Shooting)- Women’s 25 pistol team

Dipika Pillikal (Sqush)- Women’s single

Abhinav Bindra, Ravi Kumar, Sanjeev Rajput (Shooting)– Men’s 10m air rifle

Santhosi Devi Yumnam (Wushu)- Women’s sanda 52kg

Narender Grewal (Wushu)– Men’s sanda 60kg

Dushyant Chauhan (Rawling)- Men’s lightweight single sculls

Sawarn Singh (Rawling)- Men’s single sculls

Kapil Sharma, Ranjit Singh, Bajrang Lal Thakur, Robin Panachithanathu, Sawan Kumar Kalkal, Maninder Singh, Devinder Singh, Mohammed Ahmed (Rowling)– Men’s eight

Sagun Chowdhary, Shreyasi Singh, Varsha Varman (Shooting)- Women’s double trap team

Sandeep Sajwal (Swimming)– Men’s 50m breaststroke.

Trisha Deb, Purvasha Sudhir Shende, Jyothi Surekha Vennam (Archery)– Women’s compound team event

Chain Singh (Shooting)– Men’s 50m rifle 3 positions

Trisha Deb (Archery)– Women’s individual compound event

Vinesh Phogat (Wreshling)- Women’s freestyle 58 kg

Geetika Jakhar (Wreshling)- Women’s freestyle 63 kg

Lalita Babbar (Athletics)– Women’s 300m steeplechase

Yuki Bhambari (Tennis)- Men’s single

Yuki Bhambari, Divij Saran (Tennis)- Men’s double

Sania Mirza, Prathana Thombare (Tennis)– Women’s double

M.R. Poovamma (Atheletics)- Women’s 400m

Arokia Rajiv (Atheletics)- Men’s 400m

Manju Bala (Athletics)– Women’s hammer throw

Narsingh Pancham Yadav (Wrestling)- Men’s freestyle 74kg

Naveen Kumar (Athletics)- Men’s 300 m steeplechase